Eco-Friendly Wine Cradle: An Innovative Way To Pair Mushrooms with Wine

roxypicklogoFor a cat, I’m fairly eco-conscious. I eat sustainable fish, I use cat litter made from corn (a wonderfully multipurpose crop), and I never buy anything that would end up in a landfill, so my carbon footprint is close to zero.

So naturally my tail started to wag when I saw the EcoCradle wine bottle shipper made out of mushrooms and crop waste. Now let me emphasize one thing: I am not a fan of the fungus, except only when its character embodies a wine. However, my appreciation for the spongy spore has since changed: EcoCradle is 100 percent biodegradable and takes less energy to make than Styrofoam, according to the manufacturer Ecovative Design.

EcoCradle

Photo courtesy of Ecovative Design.

Plus, the shipper is a great way to utilize the “shroom,” a delicacy to some but a mere creepy toadstool to me that evokes images of gnomes—mischievous, tiny, stout mythical sprites that occupy the subterranean terrior of the forest. The only forest terrior I care about is that which I find in a Pinot Noir—one that evokes aromas of damp forest floor, dry leaves and, what else, mushrooms.

For more information visit, http://www.mushroompackaging.com/

This entry was posted in Roxy's Pick and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eco-Friendly Wine Cradle: An Innovative Way To Pair Mushrooms with Wine

  1. When someone writes an paragraph he/she maintains the idea of a user in his/her brain that how a user can be aware of it.
    Thus that’s why this article is perfect. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

